Back to Back: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011) & The Grey

Another great weekend where I can watch two movies.  So I have been waiting for the Hollywood version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.  Let me start by saying that both versions (Swedish & American) stuck with the basic plot.  The rest however, were quite different.  I didn’t read the novel, so I couldn’t tell which movie was the closest adaptation of the book.  Anyway, both were done nicely and for those who haven’t seen the original and are watching the US version will not be disappointed.  No doubt the US counterpart had more budget, but I really cannot tell where they used the money except for the opening credits where it felt like you are watching a heavy metal music video…I meant that as a compliment.  Daniel Craig fits the role, but he really looks old and tired for his age.  Liam Neeson who is turning 60 years old…look nicer and younger than him ~ more about this on my blog below for The Grey.  I was thinking that Craig can do one more James Bond film and that’s it. (He is currently filming Skyfall) They need to find a replacement for the next installment of James Bond.  (I’ll try to blog and list possible actors who will fit James Bond shoes when I get the chance)  For me, the original Swedish version is still better. It was darker, had a nicer pace, more detailed and sequencing than the US one.  Plus, the ending of the Swedish version already had the audiences anticipating to see the next one.  While the Hollywood version ended in a way where if you don’t know it’s a trilogy, you would have thought it’s the end and that’s that.  On the plus side, Rooney Mara played her role perfectly, her acting was really good and the makeup and styling were amazing.

After dinner and one hour break, I was back in the cinema for The Grey.  I didn’t see the trailer of this movie, and I have no idea what’s it about.  I wanted to see it because in the past years, Liam Neeson has been making really nice movies.  The roles he is choosing or being chose to portray really suits him to a T.  And as I mentioned earlier, it seems he stopped aging at 45 years.  He looks 45…not almost 60.  As oppose to Daniel Craig who is vice versa. Liam even looked younger than more handsome than Dermont Mulroney who co-stars with him in this movie. (For those who don’t know and recognized Dermont, he played Michael O’Neal the guy Julia Roberts wants and fights to get back in the movie My Best Friend’s Wedding).  For those who loves suspense, The Grey has a lot of it and it will prove more entertaining and filling than watching a dialogue based film like The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo ~ my sister saw her seat mate sleeping and I believe a lot of people will and have dozed off on some scenes from this movie.

The Girl with a Dragon Tattoo (US version) is getting a higher rating than the Swedish one. I beg to differ.  I think it is higher because it’s Hollywood and has wider audience viewership.

Until my next review! See you at the movies!

Leave a comment