300: Rise of an Empire

Image

Warning: Contain Spoilers!

Another movie that I definitely wanted to see on its first day of screening. And that I did!  I was waiting for this film since I saw the trailer last year and was so excited to know there’s a sequel (or so I thought, more about that later).  So all day today I was looking forward to the last full show on an IMAX cinema.  I was so thrilled and didn’t want to be late, that when I entered the cinema and was handed 3D glasses by an attendant, I got surprised and asked: “Why?  Is this 3D?”  The attendant was probably shocked about my question.  I mean I bought tickets on an IMAX cinema right?  IMAX = 3D! Hello!  hahahaa… Anyway, I am not fond of wearing those 3D glasses, but I want to believe I was meant to see this movie on 3D! hahahaa…

When I found my seat, there was a bit of confusion on the first few minutes as I was trying to comprehend what was happening since I was one minute late!  Then as the movie unfolds, I realized that this is not a sequel but rather a simultaneous occurring of events on the invasion of Persia on Greek soil.  It was like watching the ‘other side’ of the war instead of just a concentration of the story about Sparta and its 300 Greek warriors.  This movie is a cumulative story based on the attempted invasion of Persia on Greece.  The storyline is actually very creative, something I didn’t see coming…I totally loved this ingenious plot!  Of course expect the typical blood and gore ridden scenes.  CGI was amazing and another thing I enjoyed most was the fight scenes at the sea.  That was something very unique as well.  I know a lot of women and even men who dislike and can’t take such graphic and brutal show of violence on-screen.  But I totally dig these kind of films!  It’s pure entertainment to me, an escape from reality.  I feel totally relaxed after, not even a tiny bit hostile.  Eva Green suits her character well.  And she shows the true meaning of “Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.”

My 9th movie this 2014 and it’s worth six years of waiting!!! 5 out of 5 stars!!!

Leave a comment